Forums are back in action! ×

Training to be a superhero

My name is Jackie, and I want to be a superhero. Or maybe just look awesome in spandex and heels. No, I definitely want to be a superhero. The spandex and heels thing is a total bonus.

I'm a writer. And one of the keys to being a productive writer is keeping your ass in a chair and your fingers on the keyboard. Over the years, my butt has become chair-shaped, and while my fingers were getting a nice workout, the rest of me, well, not so much. Almost three years ago, my sons (the Precious Little Tax Deductions) started doing tae kwon do, and after watching their classes for a couple of months, Loving Husband and I dared each other to join the adult class. Two and a half years later, Loving Husband and I are getting ready to test for our advanced brown belts, and I'm psyching myself up to do a running jump and launch off of a chair to break a board (and not land on my chair-shaped ass). Yes, I break boards with my hands and feet. The flying thing, though, is very new. Gravity isn't my friend. And inertia is my nemesis. (Training to be a superhero -- I have to have a nemesis, no?)