Forums are back in action! ×

Hey everyone. So, I'm new to this whole "working out at home/of your own volition" thing, but I'm liking it so far. No worries about what other people are thinking, right?

Anyway, I used to do ballet, tap and modern for years and years, with a year of crew (rowing) and a summer of bellydance thrown in. I then got to college and pretty much stopped working out until my last semester senior year (this past January through May), in which I took Yoga and Zumba as classes. I tried to continue working out over the summer, but with daily summer school classes (which allowed me to graduate in July!), I kind of became a lazy oaf.

I love playing video games and reading and watching horror movies, and so I've always wanted to be in shape just so I could cosplay as those hot chicks who tend to show up in the best versions of those genres. ^.^; But, I was always lazy or would just quit because I hated feeling stared at in the gym. I don't think I'm just paranoid, either; I distinctly remember hearing a bunch of dudes who were on the treadmills behind my elliptical once discussing my ass and how it bounced while I worked out. Ew. I've also had trainers come up to me, appropro of nothing, and start trying to tell me how I was doing everything wrong and trying to reposition me to make it "right," which also seems pretty creepy. So. No more gyms.

I just started yesterday (!) with the Beginner's Body Weight workout and woke up SO. SORE. But, as my crew coach used to say, "If you're not sore, you're not working hard enough. And, if you are sore, you need to work harder to get in shape." If it sounds like a dichotomy, well, it is. ^.^ But, it's one that I've always liked.