Forums are back in action! ×

Panic Attack

Maleficarum

I'm not a medical expert, but I've had some panic attacks when I was in Peace Corps. Service was a stressful experience and I had some scary things happen, and never had panic attacks before. They're scary, for sure.

The body has different ways of handling stress, specifically if it thinks it's being attacked: fight or flight. It's a helpful response when one is being attacked. But panic attacks happen when nothing's happening at all, there's no trigger. Some people even think they're having a heart attack because it can feel the same, such as a tight chest and shortness of breath.

A panic attack is just a response to stress when there really isn't a trigger. They're scary, but you can talk yourself out of it and try to calm down. The nervous system is responding to something, but your brain can be calm and tell yourself that you have no reason to feel this way and that you have the power to calm down. You have control of this situation.

You didn't say what situation you're in, but I'm assuming something stressful. Using some relaxation techniques in your day, not just in the panic attack, can be very helpful to stopping these.

<--<< Daughter of Artemis >>-->

Those can be some incredibly scary shit, and the adrenaline surge/post-adrenaline shakes last for quite a while. Are you doing okay now? Do you have a good crew of friends or family near you to help you regroup after that? I know they're not as full-on traumatic as getting stabbed or something, but they're also not something you can just shake off in 15 minutes, either.