Forums are back in action! ×

Lurker no more!

Hello everyone! As the title indicates I've been lurking here for a few weeks, soaking up all the nerdy fitness goodness and finally decided to take the plunge myself!

Because no good rpg'er can resist a backstory, here's mine. I was always a fat kid growing up, some of it poor habits on my part, some unlucky genetics. I topped out close to 250 by the time I graduated. In high school I found weightlifting, so I was still the fat kid but at least I was strong. When I came across powerlifting my first year of college I was in love. Finally a sport made for fat kids lol! Well, long story short I didn't get much of a chance to pursue my newfound love. I was diagnosed with a genetic condition causing bloodclots, as well as having been born without a Vena Cava (the big vein that essentially connects your upper and lower body). I spent a week in the hospital with 14 blood clots (ouch) and then was more or less bedridden for several months afterwards while things settled down. Worst of all, I was told no more weight lifting.

I let myself get pretty down about it and put on a lot of weight, back up to almost 230. About 2 years ago I got my act together and dropped down to 180, but I did it poorly. I wound up skinny fat and weaker than I'd ever been. Because I was so unhappy with the results I stopped trying and right now I'm sitting around 200 again. Worse than the weight though, I'm pretty out of shape. I'm only 26 but sometimes I feel a lot older. Additionally, I'm a teacher and it's pretty humbling watching 16 who are stronger and faster than you! So bottom line I want to do it right this time and get fit, not worry about how toned my abs are. This site has some awesome people and resources and I feel great about my chances here! I'm in the process of putting together some good goals and a smart plan to take them down, more on that as it develops.

Thanks for listening, and I'm excited to get started!