Forums are back in action! ×

A long, long time ago...

Hi all.

I've been reading the nerd fitness blog posts and lurking on the forums for a month or so now and figured it was time i joined properly.

Brief History:

My name is Adam and I live in a town called Basingstoke in the UK. I was very skinny as a kid and didn't do much sport or exercise (I preferred playing console games like sonic the hedgehog and final fantasy).

I ballooned up a bit (from 11 to 13 stone) when I went to uni (oddly enough about the same time I started playing world of warcraft, I doubt that's a coincidence) and have been dieting and then piling it back on (and more) ever since.

My new years resolution this year was to reach a fairly healthy weight and then put on as much lean muscle as possible.

To achieve this goal I have simply reduced my carb intake and generally paid more attention to what I eat (i still eat crap just less of it). I also bought some dumbells, a 5kg kettlebell and a pullup bar.

I have been using the dumbells fairly regularly but I rarely use my kettlebell and I can still only do a maximum of one pullup (not just in a set, once I have done one I cant do another for a few hours).

I have since gone from about 210 pounds to 180 pounds (i'm 5'11 by the way) and have some muscle mass to work with.

Current goals:

I am looking to start taking my exercise and diet more seriously in order to achieve my current fitness goals which have evolved somewhat.

I no longer want to be particularly muscly, but I do want to be nice and strong and have decent muscular endurance. (i'd like to be fit enough to do some parkour/free running)

I also want to be more flexible and fitter in the cardiovascular sense.

I know it's a lot to ask, but i'd quite like a six pack. Even if you can only just make them out when I tense really hard and only in a certain light, that'd be enough for me.