Forums are back in action! ×

Confessions of a wagon-faller-offer

Caitriona

You know how sometimes you get super excited about something, and when it comes around you suddenly lose all your motivation and end up sucking at it? Because guys: this challenge so far? Not going so well for me.

See, when the current challenge started, I set all these goals for myself, and because I’m pretty new to working out I didn’t have clear results in mind, so all my goals were about maintaining a routine – going to the gym, walking, running, keeping the house clean with help of a daily checklist, that kind of stuff. What I didn’t take into account was that I’d be pretty busy with traveling out of state, and having overnight guests. Before the challenge, I would have just adapted my routine, doing some sit-ups and push-ups at home, getting a few reps in with the weights I have, and being pretty happy about the amount I walked around the city with my visiting friend. But because I had set specific goals for gym/runs/etc., I just ended up feeling bad and not really doing anything. WHICH IS STUPID AND I REALIZE IT AND I’M READY TO GET THE FREAK PAST IT. Um. Yeah. I just yelled that. Sorry.

The worst/stupidest part? I didn’t even want to log on to NF anymore, because I felt like I was somehow failing not just myself, but also the community. I felt like people would be judgey – I mean, I’m a total noob who’s super excited for 2 weeks and then disappears without a trace. Ugh. So this is my effort to get back in the saddle before it’s too late. I’m definitely still motivated. I just think I went about the challenge in the wrong way. Maybe I’m just not ready for a challenge. Maybe I need better goals. Point is: I love walking and running, I love working out. If I can’t make it a few days in a row, the fitness police isn’t gonna put me in jail for it. And more than anything, I know that I need to be accountable to myself, not just an online forum (as super awesome as said forum may be).