Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, total n00b here

Soooo... I am almost 38 and an ex rollerderby girl. I have been struggling with my weight for about 9 years now. I am currently 153 pounds, 5'3" and super embarrassed about it.

I don't think of myself as an overeater (in fact I starve myself) but as an under exerciser. I also have been battling depression since my husband died about 6 years ago and have found that exercising has made me feel a BILLION times better. Problem is, I don't know how to move forward with losing the weight (increments, plans, amounts, blah blah). I think I am on the right path and I am super stoked to get on this weight battle. My goal is to lose 40 pounds so I am nervous, but ready.

:)

I love this site and I am a newb as of today. Really helps with the depression side of things. <3

P.S. I haven't picked a class yet because I don't know where I will fit in, but I am thinking Adventurer to start and then Assassin.

Hi rubyhellcat ^_^

I think you will find this site very useful and friendly, you're in the right place! Yeah, Adventurer is a great starting point, you can always change class as your goals/interests evolve. Wow, you are my hero for being a roller derby girl, that rocks! What kinds of exercise do you enjoy? That's the best choice, whatever you like and know you can have fun doing! Nerd Fitness has posted some awesome workouts, just pick whatever interests you and go for it. There are also a lot of discussions about nutrition, what has helped me is to focus on how a food makes me feel and how it can help me feel better and to understand that I need to give my body good fuel in order to be my best - and that good fats really are good! The online community here is wonderful, feel free to ask for help or support anytime ^_^

"When you feel helpless, help someone." - Aung San Suu Kyi

"He who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead..." - Albert Einstein