Forums are back in action! ×

The intro thread in which arcticMaiden talks your ear off.

arcticMaiden here! I'm 23 going on 24 years old, and from the Maritimes of Canada. I'm a University student and taking Computer Science seems to keep me good and nerdy.

I've been working on myself for a while now, but I have decided to join Nerd Fitness to move things to the next level.

The short version of where I came from:

I graduated High School with absolutely no plans in mind, I was smart but I was not ambitious. Signed up for community college so that I was at least doing something Post Secondary. Studied Graphic Design, graduated and could not find work. Disheartened I let it all get to me and became rather depressed. I worked night shifts at a grocery store and would come home from work and eat an entire pie on my own before playing Halo till 2 in the morning and would wake at noon or later to do it all over again. At 180Lbs I know I was not obese or any thing (though I was overweight), but I wasn't happy and that number on the scale would keep creeping up if I didn't do something.

I joined a gym which brought some of my energy back. I got the courage and ambition up to apply for University and was thrilled to have been accepted into a Computer Science program with a small scholarship to boot! I started to clean up my eating and was accepted into the co-op program at the University and was able to quit my grocery store job and I now work junior positions for IT companies instead. My next work term starts in a week. I have lost 30Lbs in a little under 3 years, but I have had several relapses. I need a Jedi Council so to speak, but have had no luck putting one together in real life so I am hoping to find a support network here instead. I might look slimmer than I did before, but I want to be the best me I can be! Also fitness seems to help my knee (the cartilage was surgically removed when I was in Grade 9 and I shattered it).

How I'm going to move forward: