Forums are back in action! ×

Hello from a total newbie!

Hi everyone! I'm a total newbie to the idea of exercising with intent (as opposed to the rather sporadic, aimless attempts of my past), and I'm looking forward to feeling better, getting stronger and feeling more capable in my life generally. I'll post a pic later, but for now, the facts: I'm 36 (turn 37 on Sunday!), 5'7", about 128 lbs (oh, and female). I'm okay with my weight - I care more about improving my fitness. I've been exercising on and off since about May, mostly just running. Again, I've been somewhat sporadic about it, so I'm only up to about 4 miles at a time at my best, and I run reeeaaaally slowly. I usually run outdoors, but I timed myself on a treadmill at the gym, and it takes me about 34 minutes to do a 5K (sooooooooooo slooooooooooooooow... ::cry::).

I'm honestly a little clueless about how to proceed. Right now I've been doing the beginner body weight workout that Steve posted 2-3 times a week; that's been going on for about two weeks or so. I'm also still running 2-3 times a week, doing around 4 miles. I try to run a little farther each time I go out. I've also added a little to the body weight workout - trying to hold the planks longer, adding side planks, adding a shoulder press with little 4-lb weights to my lunges, etc. I also try to do a schedule of alternating cardio and strength days, with a day of rest between each pair of workout days.

My diet is decent but could be better. I don't want to go paleo, as I'm trying to stay away from meat for a variety of reasons. But I am cutting back on bread and other grains and moving more toward nuts and fruits for my snacks. This is a process, as I'm trying to eat through my pantry first. This is an area where I could do better, and I'm slowly making changes.