Forums are back in action! ×

New to site, but not new to fitness, even if I don't look like it...

Hello everyone!

I'm Suzie, and I've been steadily weightlifting for over two years now. I've been able to get my weight down to 160ish; I've competed in a Figure Competition, and I've ran a half marathon. I also used to be a high school teacher.

I recently (end of July) switched jobs due to the stress I was experiencing as a teacher. I couldn't seem to make the time to go to the gym, my diet was not as good as it should be, and I just was depressed. Now I'm much better mentally, and loving my new analyst job, but having some SERIOUS weight issues now.

So as a teacher I was constantly up, down, walking, etc. Now that I have a desk job, I don't move nearly as much. I knew this was going to happen, and so I compensated by eating less. Before I started this job on July 31, I weighed 183. Now I weight 193. I eat less, following a mainly paleo approach (yesterday I cut everything except dairy and my coffee syrup), and I've been to the gym a minimum of four days a week since I started my job. This week I added in some running 2-3 times a week and rollerblading on Sundays.

So last week I was approximately 189#, and this week I'm 193#... wtf? I'm confused, I'm disheartened, but I went to the gym anyway this morning, worked around a knee that has been bothering me slightly, and ate my omelet. I'm sticking to what I know I should do, because it's enjoyable for me to lift weights and get faster, but I'm beginning to believe I will never look as fit as I feel...

So here are my stats, as I'd like to pick a race (been a life long final fantasy/video game rpg pleyer, so can't help it :playful:) and I think at the moment my profession is adventurer. If I'm wrong, please let me know...

Body comp:

Height: 5'7" - 8" (depends on who measures)

Weight (as of this morning): 193#

female

32 years old