Forums are back in action! ×

Batgirl was a librarian, right?

That's totally going to be my outlook on things from now on.

I'm a librarian, but the dumpy, frumpy kind...and I'm not even 30 yet. I'd love to look like I could secretly be Batgirl. And then maybe BE secretly Batgirl.

I have so many goals - things I want to do, places I want to see - and I know so much of it will be easier if I could just get rid of all this pesky weight I'm dragging around with me!

My current fitness level is ok, but not great. I'm an Irish dancer, and take class twice a week. I'm a swimmer, but I haven't been in a pool to really work in nearly a year. I hike a lot, but the weather's starting to change. (Also, I'm really good at finding excuses!) I'm trying NF because, well...it seems do-able. I'm good with challenges, not so good with going solo. I tried Fitocracy, but they have a huge emphasis on gyms and weights, and the aspect of it I liked (leveling up) is reduced to so much grinding because the quests require equipment I don't have.

I don't know whether I'm an aspiring Scout or a Ranger...since speed is not and probably never will be my strong point. My frame isn't built for speed - even if I get to my goal weight of 135, I'm still going to have big hips and broad shoulders. :-p But I'm a "tank," and always have been. When I swam in college, I did the mile, not the 50m. You can put me in the water and I'll swim until someone tells me it's time to stop. That's why I took up hiking instead of jogging. Turn me loose in a place with some trails up and down the hills, and I'll be just fine. I've got my first mountain picked out that I'll be tackling in 2013.

(So anyone who's been around for awhile can definitely point me in which direction I should look for future challenges....)