Forums are back in action! ×

Sick and tired of being sick and tired!

Well I joined this site mostly out of pure desperation. After trying on a drawer full of jeans that I could barely pull up to the bottom of my now-ample ass, I decided I can't keep doing what I'm doing and that I need some sort of push and accountability and guidance to get on the right track.

A bit about me...

I'm a pharmaceutical researcher at a large company in Cambridge, MA. I'm currently out on disability because I'm struggling really badly with PTSD and all of the lovely things that go along with that. As a result of my PTSD symptoms getting worse over the past few years (and the wealth of great restaurants in the Boston area), I have used emotional eating as a coping method. Combined with a high-stress job, long hours, and not being at all active, I've gone from 101.5 lbs in November of 2009 up to 140 lbs this July. At only 4'9", this but me at an obese BMI. I also had blood work done in June that showed an A1C in the pre-diabetic range and cholesterol levels that are completely out of whack. Clearly seeing that my weight gain was causing actual health problems, I took drastic action and started the ketogenic Ideal Protein diet plan in August and am now down to 134 lbs. Unfortunately, for financial reasons I recently had to go off of this diet. I also read the paleo diet for beginners article and saw no real reason to be paying insane amounts of money to be eating crazy little astronaut packets of mystery protein that just left me feeling hungry and unsatisfied.