Forums are back in action! ×

New to fitness, old pals with nerd and sport

Hello, this is the first time I've actually joined any type of forum or anything, I usually prefer just creeping, but Nerd Fitness just seems different to me. I saw the site for the first time yesterday, and have been pretty much hooked since.

About me:

I'm 23, 5'8", probably 175 lbs, (I'm going to start keeping track, I've learned metrics are important). I've always been into sports and athletics, but also have been out of shape since 10th grade. (I was an active and healthy kid and ran distance track in 9th grade, when I was the skinniest I've ever been.) So for the past 8 years, my weight and fitness has fluctuated, with no real trend or me paying that much attention to it.

I played rugby in college but gave it up when I graduated because head injuries just scare me too much. Since then, I ran off and on for a couple of months, then did absolutely nothing, then started biking to work, and then playing tennis. Right now (before I found NF yesterday), I bike almost everywhere I go - on average 50 miles/week, and also play tennis for an hour once a week. But I want to get fit.

My weight depends on my general mood- when I'm unhappy and bored I eat and don't exercise. I'm going back to school for engineering, and I know I don't like school. So I want to stay active and get super-duper fit. I'm thinking about adopting some paleo-principles, but I'm mostly vegetarian, so I'm hesitant. I also think I'm going to focus on body-weight work and interval training, no gyms for me.

I'm going to join the next challenge in November, but here are some goals I want to work towards. Please let me know if you think they are 6 week goals, 6 month goals, or somewhere in between.

[TABLE=class: grid, width: 600]

1 mile in 7:00

My personal best is 6:45, but it was 10 years ago. If I had to guess, I'm probably at 8:15 if I push hard. I'm going to time myself this weekend.

1 pull-up