Forums are back in action! ×

Please help me make my Laptop faster!

Red1263

Hey hey Everyone! I have a HP Pavilion dv5 Notebook PC.

And ever since I graduated, my laptop after suffering from the brutal experience that is my Schooling, it never got back to it's original speed. I can't even play music and go online without hearing the music skip, or the browser freeze.

If you guys can help me with this, help me clean up and get rid of all of the useless stuff in my laptop, I'd greatly appreciate it! I'm not really knowledgeable in what's necessary and what isn't, so detailed explanations would be most helpful.

Info about my Laptop:

Windows: Vista

Processor: AMD Turin X2 Dual-Core Mobile RM-72 2.10 GHz

64-bit Operating System

Any and all help is appreciated.

Level 25 Final Fantasy Rebel

My Epic Quest | My Journey | Currently on the Trial of Orthos
Str: 60 | Dex: 23 | Sta: 66 | Con: 28 | Wis: 55 | Cha: 14

Goals for 2021:

Spoiler
  • Build my brother a Destiny 2 Lamp
  • Learn how to do a Handstand
  • Play 1 song on the acoustic guitar
  • Clean up the Christmas Decorations and finish setting up my apartment (hang things up, plus some other few things that need to be organized)
  • Re-introduce Pull-ups into my routine
  • Build a shelving unit next to my Desk

"No matter what, if you can hold your head up high, you've done the right thing."

"When you stand with your family, your family stands with you."

"Write what needs to be written."

Have you tried de-fragmenting the hard drive?

After a year or so I do a complete fresh install, purge all the crap.

It may also be a virus, so make sure you have an anti-virus, ONLY ONE anti-virus.

I dont know how many times people complain about their slow computer and it turns out

that the morrons have 3 or 4 anti-virus.

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Have you tried de-fragmenting the hard drive?

After a year or so I do a complete fresh install, purge all the crap.