Forums are back in action! ×

How is resistance band "weight" calculated?

PhilD

OK, I'm new to this and because I travel full-time with my job I can't do weights/pull-up bars/gym subscriptions etc.

So I've got myself some resistance bands and am simulating a lot of weights/pull-ups/rowing etc with them.

But I have a question that I can't seem to find the answer easily via Google and figured someone on here must know how this works.

I have a 5 band set which tells me these are the following resistance amounts.

1 yellow band 6-8lbs resistance

1 green band 9-11lbs resistance

1 red band 12-14lbs resistance

1 blue band 15-18lbs resistance

1 black band 22lbs resistance

To my knowledge they work something like this individually - Say I'm pulling the black band as weights, if I do this with a handle in each hand that's 22lb of resistance each side right? If I were to pull both handles with one hand would that be 44lb of resistance?

But then my main question is say I paired the black and blue band. I know it increases the resistance but doesn't just add them does it? i.e. 22lb+15-18lb = 37-40lb. It doesn't feel like that much of an increase, and it also doesn't seem to make sense that it would work like that. But I'm wondering if there is a way to quantify the weights (if only roughly)

Any ideas? Also please correct me if any of the above is wrong, I have no idea what I'm talking about in this area apart from what I've found online :)

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Level 1 Adventurer

STR: 1 | DEX: 1 | STA: 1 | CON: 2 | WIS: 5 | CHA: 5

Fitocracy

the way you're calculating it is correct.

it just is a very rough estimate.

also those resistance levels are listed from maximum safe extension, which is usually 3x original length.

i can't remember the ratio for resistance based on stretched length, but it's dramatically less when only stretched to 2x original length.