Forums are back in action! ×

And so our story begins…

38lbs in 3 months

You know how “they†say that 80% of weight control is all about diet? Well, I’m living proof. The Wife and I started the Paleo diet on August 1st and, with exactly zero exercise, I’ve dropped from 276lbs to 238lbs. We have stayed the course through 4 mini-vacations (long weekend trips), 1 career change, and (so far) 1 giant bowl of Halloween candy. That’s a lot of lard burned away by just a lifestyle change and my resting metabolism. So now I’m curious to see what throwing some weights around will do for me.

I’ve always been a big guy. I hit 6’ 4†and 200lbs by the time I graduated high school. 5 years later, as I graduated college, I had ballooned up to 250 thanks to becoming sedentary and eating a college diet that was based upon soft drinks, fast food, and horrifying amounts of junk food. Half-hearted attempts at dieting and working out, along with being on my feet all day at various retail jobs, kept me around the 250 mark for the next 10 years. Until I landed my first office job. Then it all went to heck.

I went from being a big guy, to being “The Big Guyâ€. I hit 300lbs in 2006 and was out of breath just from walking the 200 yards from the parking garage to my desk. So I did what all too many of us Y-chromosome types tend to do, I hit the gym with a vengeance. I managed to drop 40lbs in 4 months and was feeling pretty good about myself. Then it happened. I managed to blow-out my left knee and break two ribs within a two week period. That sort of stopped the gym visits cold. And, since I hadn’t made any diet changes, I managed to put back on 30 of the lost pounds within the year.