Forums are back in action! ×

Glencoe, signing in.

Hello Rebellion,

I discovered this site today, and immediately decided to join. I used to run and play rugby for my university, but after a nasty injury lost my ability to work out while I recovered. I began smoking in that recovery period to ease the stress of my injury and recent break up in a long term relationship. I have been smoking for a little over two years now, and have watched my body slowly deteriorate from what it used to be.

Well, I'm done making excuses and feeling sorry for myself. I went on my first run today in a very long time, 3.51 miles @ <10min mile pace, did a weakened version of the 300 workout, and began the paleo diet. I am extremely proud that I am making this decision to improve my life. Since I do not have the old CC and rugby team to back me up with positive reinforcement anymore, I decided to join the forums so that I can see others and their successes.

I do have a few questions about the paleo diet, however. I am not entirely sure if this is the right venue to be asking, so I apologize if these question belong in another thread.

1. I am thinking about starting off my mornings with oatmeal, milk, and hard boiled eggs. I am afraid of gaining an intolerance to gluten and lactose through the paleo diet. Is this the healthiest choice I could make for a daily dose of grain and dairy? What other suggestions do you guys have?

2. Red meat isn't very practical for the body. I noticed that the paleo diet does not shun red meat. Why is this? I am likely going to limit my red meat intake to once a week, to keep the enzymes going in my stomach. What is the community's thought on this?