Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings from another newbie

edit I just realised how long this post is, um.., sorry about that, I talk too much

Hi everyone! I've recently stumbled across the NF blog and thought I'd join up because you all seem rather lovely and hopefully this will help me with my motivation a bit.

A little bit about me:

I'm studying Philosophy at the University of York (The one in the UK, not the one in Toronto).

I'd say I'm quite nerdy. I'm basically surgically attached to my laptop.

I love cricket and can watch an entire test match (yes, that's five days)

I've recently discovered that doing handstands is a very good cure for tension headaches

The fitness history:

When I was a kid I was very fit. I used to swim competitively, I trained 3 times a week for that, I also did gymnastics, ballet (it wasn't my idea), horse riding, hockey, went tombstoning and generally ran about the countryside climbing up things, jumping off things, hurting myself and failing to be at all girly. I always wanted to take up rock climbing and learn a martial art, but mum didn't think that was a great idea. I used to eat loads, but I did so much exercise it didn't really matter.

But when I was 16 we moved and I changed schools and stop exercising pretty much overnight. We moved from the country to a town so I couldn't do all the running about in fields which I'd done before and my new school was ages away so I had a lot more time travelling and a lot less time to do active things. But I kept eating like I had been before, my weight has been creeping up ever since.

Starting uni didn't help at all. My diet has certainly got worse, I always used to eat a lot, but it was mostly fairly healthy, now I eating mostly convenience food and a lot of fries. I've often tried to start exercising again, but never really stuck to it. I've done yoga on and off for a few years, so I'm fairly bendy, but that's all.

The current situation:

Height: 5'5''

Weight: 164lbs