Forums are back in action! ×

And it begins..

Hello fellow nerdigans.. My name is Emily; I live in Phoenix, AZ where, baby, it is not so cold outside. I’ve been married for 12 years and we have a 16 month old son. I’d like to pretend that being pregnant is what ruined my figure.. but that’s just crap. What figure I had I ruined all by myself with a poor diet and rare exercise. I don’t want my son to have a fat mama in all his childhood pictures and I’m already having a hard time keeping up with him :P

Some goals:

1. There is a 5k on February 9th being held at the high school I graduated from that will benefit the orchestra (I was never in the orchestra but whatevs, it’s contributing to my old school at any rate). I can currently walk a 5k without much problem but I want to jog at least part of it. Should I set a pace I want to achieve or just keep the goal as simple as finishing?

2. I’m starting Couch to 5k towards the above goal. I have “started†a few times so the goal this time is to complete the program.

3. Hike at least once a week. Thunderbird mountain is not far from my house and I’ve hiked it before. I can go Saturday and/or Sunday morning while DH watches the minion.

4. Figure out what style of eating/diet I should follow and stick to it 80%(?) of the time.. South Beach? Paleo? E2L? Just counting calories? A combo? I think I need help with this :P

5. I’m currently 246.6 pounds and have 42% body fat (yikes!) This is just not acceptable. I was 231 in May of this year, I just keep creeping up. I’m so close to my top pregnancy weight (255) it’s ridiculous! By February 9th (which is about 10 weeks from now), I want to see 10 of those 15 pounds gone. This may be especially difficult with the holidays but it’s time to not allow myself excuses like that. One pound a week is not unreasonable.