Forums are back in action! ×

Monk-assassin law student checking in

Howdy folks. I'm a martial artist from way back (Sam Dan in Tang Soo Do [any WTSDA folks here?]) who has relocated from Western Pennsylvania to Chicago for law school. One thing I've learned in the relocation is that I'm not a city boy :stung:

Lessee... my goals are as follows: I'm trying to get accepted to the JAG Corps (Air Force or Army preferred), so I am working a lot on bodyweight exercise. It helps that I am too poor to afford much beyond my resistance bands, pullup bar, and weighted vest. I eat Primal as much as possible; cooking is one of the things that keeps me sane during school (I'm a 1L presently). I have been really influenced by Ross Enamit's Never Gymless and Infinite Intensity; as a martial artist, training like a combat athlete makes the most sense. Right now I am very diligent about my 3/week resistance training days, but my conditioning is more sporadic. Once a friend of mine moves out here, we are going to start training martial arts together; he comes from a blended system and has great hands, I have a traditional kicking background. It's great to have like-minded friends. On the spiritual side, I'm Catholic (very much enjoy C.S. Lewis) and open to chat with folks about spiritual and philosophical questions. Please don't try to start flame wars on the subject; I neither impose my beliefs on anyone nor attack them for their beliefs. I like open Socratic dialogue :peaceful:.

That should about cover my bases.

Edit: I will be posting a journal once finals are done and I'm back home with time on my hands. Not only will I be updating it with the usual workout/nutrition stuff, I will also be musing about law, martial arts, spirituality, philosophy, and whatever else crosses my mind. Open discussion welcome!

Battle Log

Lifetime Training Goals

2017 Goals

Dovie'andi se tovya sagain.

Danke schoen :)