Forums are back in action! ×

Relative strength, strength endurance, and muscle size

mightstone2k

Is relative strength or strength endurance a product of muscle size? Specifically, should I care about bulking/cutting or is simply eating clean and working out sufficient?

I'm frustrated. I've been working out for several years and the last two have been almost exclusively bodyweight. Despite that, I can't seem to break my pushup or pullup plateaus (20ish and 6) and I'm not progressing to any of the "elite bodyweight exercises" (one-arm pushup/pullup, handstand pushup, pistol squat). I have heard the "if you want to get better, just keep doing it" advice many times, and greasing the groove, Pavel's Ladder, and even 3/week sessions with a specific exercise have all failed. I'm starting to wonder if I need to be particularly anal about my macronutrient ratios and nutrient timing to start progressing (which means I could follow Leangains, or Robb Wolf's advice, or... etc.).

In case this helps, I am following Ross Enamit's beginner plan from Never Gymless, with some modifications. It's 3/week strength training with core+conditioning on the days in between.

Day 1

Pushup (goal 20)

Pullup (goal 8)

Weighted squat (goal 25)

Band hamstring curl (goal 10)

Pike press on chair (goal 8)

Day 2

Jump rope 30w/30r for 12-14 rounds

Core

Day 3

Band chest press (goal 8)

Band high pull (goal 10)

Close squat (Convict Conditioning - goal 20)

Band good morning (goal 10)

Overhead 1-arm band press (goal 8)

Day 4

Core

Day 5

Diamond pushup (goal 15)

Chinup (goal 8)

Weighted lunge (goal 25)

Hamstring curl (goal 10)

Weighted dip (between 2 chairs - goal 8)

Day 6 - optional

Core