Forums are back in action! ×

A new year, a new goal

Hello all. My name is Heather and I am new to the "Rebellion" and my goal for the new year will be to train for and complete my first triathlon. I will be doing the Wildflower Triathlon in May with Team in Training. You can read more about my reasons behind my decision and my ongoing journey at my blog. That's another major goal for me, by the way, to be more intentional about my blogging as I move toward my bigger, scarier goal. So, I just wanted to say a quick hello and I look forward to hearing from new people!

Hi Heather, I recently joined here as well and one of my goals for the past year was to complete a triathlon. I'm not sure what distance you were planning on but I had done a .25 mile swim, 10 mile bike, and 3.5 mile run. It was one of the hardest things I've done because of the swim. The swim wiped me out for the rest of the race and killed my bike and run time. Most tri-athletes recommend building your arm strength and endurance and save your legs for the biking and running. I found i needed every ounce of strength just to get through the swim.

Good luck on your goals!

Weird, my reply never posted! Let's try this again...

To answer your question, RedFalcon, I am going to be doing the Olympic distance at Wildflower. I am super nervous because I know that's a huge undertaking. I will be working with Team in Training, and my friends who have worked with them said they are great at getting you ready for an event. I have heard the same thing, about using your arms more than your legs for the swim portion. I did a couple sessions of boot camp this year so that has helped my strength a bit, and until I officially start with my team, I have been doing arm strength exercises and some of my own training. Thanks for the advice :)

I read your introduction thread and want to say good luck on your goals as well!