Forums are back in action! ×

Another New Recruit Reporting

Greetings all

I've always been a big guy. I'm 33 years old, 6'4-ish (it honestly changes) and am currently at 285#. Even when I trained martial arts five days a week in my teens I didn't drop below 265# and kept my ample waist so we'll see what happens as I embark on my current quest.

I know that my will is my weakest link. I'm like a lot of people in that I've half-assed tried and "failed" with starting to exercise or diet. I treated college the same way and washed out of engineering school, mostly because it was hard work. I've been working for the same company for almost 9 years in the medical billing field for almost 11 years, and I really don't like it. But at the same time, it's been easier to do nothing and complain than get out, network and try to find something new. In 2008 I decided it was time for a change and started back on my degree path through Washington State University's online degree program. In August of 2010, after 30 months of classes, I completed my degree, and a professional writing certificate, graduating summa cum laude.

A month ago I decided that I wanted to climb the 65' climbing wall at REI's flagship Seattle store. I'm deathly afraid of heights and I don't exercise, so this was going to be a challenge on several levels. My wife thought it sounded like fun, too, so we went and signed up for the following weekend (they only take reservations and they were all booked up). We went back the next Sunday, each climbed to about the 45' level and had a blast! The height wasn't as scary as I thought it might be and the belayer we were paired with was great-- we trusted her and the equipment completely.