Forums are back in action! ×

Auditioning for The Voice on Saturday

BopGun

I sang in choral groups as a kid and did a little bit of musical theater but quit all of that when I was a freshman in high school. Between my voice changing, being bullied by some of my peers and having an arrogant ass in charge of my HS's theater department who thought of me as a wad of gum stuck to his shoe, I didn't want to deal with it anymore.

All of that went to the back burner for a long time. I no longer have any desire to act, but I've been a devotee of the live music scene in my area for several years. One of the bar bands in my area (a group of three guys I'd gotten to know quite well) asked me to start singing with them. I've been with them for just over a year now. Their muscial tastes don't mesh too well with mine (they like country and '70s rock; I prefer '60s/'70s R&B/soul/funk), but I'd forgotten how much I'd loved singing and it's been a great time.

One of my bandmates, four other people from the area music scene that I know and I are piling into a Ford Excursion about 12 hours from now to audition for the next season of The Voice in Chicago. We're all auditioning Saturday afternoon, and it feels great to go to an audition for the first time in 20 years. (I had no interest in singing when I was still within American Idol's age range.)

The odds of making it onto national TV from one of these are something like 1 in 2,000. Hell, the odds are I won't even get a callback...but it's going to be fun. And kinda scary. :)

Break a leg, brother!! Enjoy yourself and do your best!

Laudabiliter -- Level 1 Mul WarriorSTR 3| DEX 2| STA 3| CON 3| WIS 2| CHA 2