Forums are back in action! ×

Michigan Ultrarunner, Tai Chi Teacher, Freemason and Wannabe Epic Real Life Character

My name is Darin and I did my first 50 mile ultra marathon last year. This year I am thinking of doing the Midwest Grand Slam which is five 100 mile ultras in one year. My running has slowed down because I hate running in the cold and my motivation is waning. I am also starting Toyama Ryu Iaido and I am in my first year of college which is pretty good since I am 46 years old. I also taught tai chi for St John hospital for many years and was their most popular teacher.

At first I thought I should be a scout since I absolutely love running the big miles on the trails. Then I thought maybe a Ranger since I also lift weights and did a bunch of years in the Army. Of course there is my almost 30 years of tai chi experience making me think I belong in the Druids.

I looked at the points system and don't really get it. 15 points? Oh well, I love this idea of making yourself as a character and completing challenges for points. With todays smart phones and Garmin data you think you might be able to get a more accurate STR, DEX, STA and CON score than just arbitrary guesswork. 

Anyway its good to be here and thanks for making a place for nerdy folks to compare our real life characters. I have wanted something like this since I first played D&D!

I'm too late for the first challenge but I plan on entering the second one once I figure out how all this works.

Anybody have advice on points? Is this a ratio thing and only applies to myself? I might have a 5 STA but somebody else might have a 10 and I can easily outrun them?

STR: 2

DEX: 2

STA: 3

CON: 2

WIS: 4

CHA: 2

Seriously? I can run 50 miles in 11hrs 27 minutes and I have a "3" STA? Hahaha..... I guess I am used to D&D.

We do not rise to the level of our expectations in a fight.

We fall to the level of our training.

Hi Darin!  Welcome to NF!