Forums are back in action! ×

Hey Nerds!

Hey everybody! I'm Stef, fairly new to Nerd Fitness, and brand new to the community. I've been following a paleo diet/fitness method for a while, but haven't found such great motivation until now! A little about myself:

I'm a junior in college, and have always been fairly active. My parents and grandparents are overweight, so I tried to keep myself as busy as possible growing up to prove I didn't have to be the same way. I also wanted to set a good example for my younger brother and sister. This drive led me to a competitive dance career for 15 years, and time spent on my high school's cheerleading and tennis teams on top of school and a part-time job. But by the time I graduated high school and started college, I wasn't happy with my health. So I started working out and eating what I thought at the time was better. I thought I was taking care of myself, but by my sophomore year I was

running myself into the ground working 30 hours a week, taking a full course load, and participating in other campus activities.

About that time I Stumbled upon Mark's Daily Apple, and I immediately thought “this makes perfect sense, why doesn't everyone do this?â€. After poking around the Internet some more, I discovered some other blogs devoted to a paleo lifestyle in college, which were more relevant to me. Then I found Nerd Fitness! I'm so impressed with

everything here, and I love being part of a community. Out here in corn-fed Nebraska, I kind of get scoffed at when I say I don't eat things like bread anymore, so it's great to have people to connect with who've already been through what I'm doing.