Forums are back in action! ×

The New Me!

Hello I'm fairly new to the Nerd Fitness scene but not new to the concept of changing my life. Over Christmas 2011 I was editing our family photo albums ready to share the pictures with other family members over the internet when I just could not bare to put up a single photograph of myself as I hated everything about the way I looked, felt even more repulsed at what I'd become so decided there and then a massive change needed to be made and only I could make it.

Basically I had an accident in July 2007 and needed to have reconstructive surgery inside my abdomen, my abdominal walls are now made of metal mesh and following a series of complications, nerve damage, failed anaesthetic and bulging, I ended up as a wheelchair user from August 2008 onwards. Subsequently I was so depressed with my now non existent life of waking, being put on the sofa to be with my children then spending the rest of the days wetting myself because I could not make it to the toilet, in fairly constant pain. Well it was all a bit of a life of just existing, a nightmare for me. Over the next few years until Christmas 2011 I had put on so much weight I'd gone up to 150kg and just absolutely hated myself. I knew my family loved me and wanted me around but for me it was either give up immediately before the situation got any worse or change everything starting with myself, my massive body.

So 2012 started, the first opening day of the new year for my doctor's I rang and made an appointment. Twelve months of rapid weight loss, and I mean complete tunnel vision on loosing weight, I wanted this more than breathing life itself, to be thinner and more healthy, I was like a machine measuring, weighing, charting, documenting, keeping food journals, writing recipes, everything I could possibly do to help me stay focused on loosing the weight I did it and kept on doing it.