Forums are back in action! ×

Everything starts somewhere, although many physicists disagree...

Hello all,

I love the concept of this Rebellion, I'm not 100% sure who or what we are rebelling against - but that fits perfectly with the last vestiges of my teenage "rebel for the sake of it" sentiments. I used to be a full-time PC gaming nerd and metalhead - but have moved on and am mostly a movie nerd now, along with a few favourite fiction authors (Pratchett, Gaiman etc.). To add to general nerdiness and  push fully into the geek zone I am a full-time research scientist - studying cooperative behaviour in fish for my PhD.

I found NF by just looking for a good beginner's workout, and got into reading a whole load of Steve's articles, which have encouraged me to actually get into excercise and strength training (I've always been a bit of a lazy arse up til now). More to the point, it makes everything seem much more acheivable.

I'm 24, live in Cambridge, UK - and will therefore deal with everything other than height in metric...I'm 6'2'', weigh 81kg and have no idea what my BF% is other than it's definately too high. I have very little muscle mass, strength or stamina - so very much a level 0 character, working through the opening tutorial stages of the game.

My general goals are:

Slim down and Bulk up:

As far as I understand it's tricky to do both simultaneously (correct?). SO The plan is to slim down first (i.e. lose the belly), then start some proper strength training to increase my muscle mass.

Starting plan to slim down is to work out with the Beginner Body Weight Workout 3 times a week, and do something aerobic another 3 days of each week (squash, swimming or cycling). Coupling this with tracking my food consumption and trying to run a calorie deficit should work - I hope.

Do More Sport: