Forums are back in action! ×

Joining Just in Time for the Challenge!

Hello fellow rebels! 

New ranger here, getting my act together just in time for the new challenge, as it so happens. I've hesitated to join NF before because I was afraid I just wouldn't be able to keep on top of things. Frankly, though, I NEED to keep on top of things, so really, where's the problem? I don't see it. 

I'm a first-year PhD student and former college rower. I was always an active kid but always a bit chubby, and never had a ton of physical confidence. I was always pretty nerdy thanks to my Dad, who's always been heavily skewed towards sci-fi and computers. He taught me to play Heroes of Might and Magic when I was 5, and at that point, my barbies were flying the Millennium Falcon around the house. Unclear why some people thought this was strange. In high school, when I discovered rowing--the first sport I was ever just sort of naturally good at (which I'd never thought would be possible), my life completely changed. I'd never thought I'd be a college athlete and suddenly I was a successful one. I also changed by body composition a lot during college and felt really good about myself for the first time.

Then, during my year off (and abroad), while I didn't technically gain weight, I did lose muscle (and gain fat). Now I feel like I'm in somebody else's body, and I don't like it one bit. I can't wait to have my old self back, but I also don't have the kind of schedule that I did in college. Now that my first semester of grad school is over and I know a bit more about how I need to structure my life, it's time to stop 'trying' to get to the gym, which I was doing last semester, and start making the gym happen. I have the Rebel Strength Guide, I've got my goals set up for the challenge, and I'm ready to go!