Forums are back in action! ×

Hello from Amish Country Pennsylvania!

Hey everyone! I guess this is where I talk about myself a little bit...

I've known about Nerd Fitness for a few weeks now, and have enjoyed looking into it thus far. I've set a goal for myself to get back into shape and I've been looking at various online resources to help me along the way. I'm not exactly new to fitness, as I was a Physical Training Leader when I was in the Air Force, I've just fallen off the wagon as of late unfortunately.

I'm a single, full time father of two beautiful girls, aged 8 and 6. I'm 30 years old, 6'1" and currently at just under 240lbs. I am a self-employed web/software developer and I love my job. My hobbies are pretty much anything to do with computers, bicycling (when the weather is nice and I the girls' schedules permit), and I enjoy cooking as well.

My girlfriend and I would like to get back into shape for the upcoming vacation season, (and stay in shape this time), and to we would like to start budgeting our money a little better so we can afford to travel the world once we're able to. (5 girls between us, so raising them comes first, and while we do well financially, having 5 kids aint cheap)

Also, I usually would argue that I'm a geek and not a nerd, but y'all seem cool, so I'll let it slide... for now! ;)

Welcome!

Don't worry, this is the place to get encouragement and get into shape! Um, the whole geek vs nerd thing can get ugly. I have been told that geeks don't know how to fight, and nerds can hold their own, so I guess I'll go with that ;)

I used to think I was a geek, and then really looked at my hobbies and really, I was a nerd...don't worry, it's an easy slope to fall down :)

Firm geek here myself, but I'm cool with the nerd title. "Geek fitness" just doesn't have the same ring, somehow.