Forums are back in action! ×

Weight Lifting Questions

eshriner

I started lifting weights again the other day. I have been benching the same amount for 2 weeks now, and instead of it getting easier (which I expected) it seems to be getting harder?

Thoughts?

Eiric S

Eiric the Mighty Fez

Human Adventurer/Cleric

LVL 1 | STR 2 | DEX 2 | STA 2 | CON 3 | WIS 4 | CHA 2

Battle Log | Fitocracy | Challenge 1

IF Calculator

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.†– 2 Corinthians 4:18

My diet is been pretty stable. I have given up grains, most dairy and sugar.

Have a couple of cups of coffee a weeks, mostly water.

Typical daily consumption is:

Breakfast: Eggs, Fruit & Nuts

Lunch: Left over dinner Protein, Vegetable & Fruit

Dinner: Protein, Vegetable

Snacks are usually LaraBars and/or yogurt (full fat)

Eiric the Mighty Fez

Human Adventurer/Cleric

IF Calculator

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.†– 2 Corinthians 4:18

how often are you lifting?  do you do 1RM every time or 80% 1RM? or "what is your plan/program"?

I AM going the distance

'Cause all I wanna do is go the distance. Nobody's ever gone the distance with Creed, and if I can go that distance, you see, and that bell rings and I'm still standin', I'm gonna know for the first time in my life, see, that I weren't just another bum from the neighborhood.

Right now my program consists of Bench Press, Squats (body weight+), Body Weight Rows, Curls & Press and weighted stair-steps.

I do 3 sets of 8 - 12. Bench press, I am struggling to reach 8.

I am not sure what 1RM is, however?

Hope that answers the question.

Eiric the Mighty Fez

Human Adventurer/Cleric

IF Calculator

1RM is your one rep max, or the most weight you can lift once with good form.