Forums are back in action! ×

Short & chubby but made of WINNING

Hey guys! I'm a long time lurker and huge fan of NF. I found this site way back when I was searching how to do a pull up, and then spent all evening trying to digest all of the information.

So, my background: spent most of my childhood a lardbutt until about high school when I developed an eating disorder. Spent the better part of two years rehabilitating my relationship with food an exercise. I was super skinny but still depressed and in the "low cal lots of cardio" mindset. I then went to college and discovered booze and cigarettes! Freshman 15? More like the freshman 30. Or 40. I went from a size 2 to a size 10.

I graduated college fat, unfit, still depressed, and marginally alcoholic. And then I decided it would be an awesome idea to get married and move to Australia. The relationship turned sour, and I delved deeper into drinking, smoking, eating, and not doing any exercise. I was a physical and emotional wreak. The marriage ended, we separated (still in Australia), and I spent about 6 months being absolutely miserable.

In July 2012, I decided to get on my bike for the first time in about 8 months. I went for a ride with a recently made friend (prior to this I had no real friends outside of those met through the ex), and I had fun for the first time in a very long time. Since then I have gradually turned everything in my life around:

• QUIT SMOKING!!!!
  • I have one drink a week-- if that. I really don't miss drinking. Now it just makes me sick!
  • Cleaned up my eating. I went to eating out for 50% of my meals to about 80% paleo (but 100% gluten free). Except for Saturday brunch, I cook everything at home.
  • Joined a crossfit gym. Started out going twice a week. Now I'm up to 4 days a week. When I first started I could barely make it through the warm up. Now the warm up is just that: a warm up for the awesome WOD!