Forums are back in action! ×

Well, hey there.

Greetings from the land of no water and way too much sun (Tucson)! I'm studying friendship and women at the University of Arizona, which is pretty time consuming. I go to class in my free time.

I've been reading the articles over here for about eight months--not for fitness advice, but instead because when I hear super awesome stories about people who can overcome their past and lose half their body weight, I realize that I can probably, you know, find the willpower to do my homework.

A lot of the material here is geared toward weight loss, which is not my problem (quite the opposite), but I think that picking a community will help me stay encouraged to build functional fitness. (Or at least guilt me into it). Steve's message is good. I also feel very self-conscious in gyms, so Nerd Fitness's focus on bodyweight strength training appeals to me.

My main challenge is to improve my upper body and core strength. I started (kind of) tracking my fitness a couple days ago by seeing what levels I'm at on the Angry Birds Workout, and found that my strength is evidently horribly mismatched. I can do 40-rep sets of jump squats, but I couldn't do more than one real pull up! Maybe I should pedal my bicycle with my hands instead. But then it might be tough to steer.

I look forward to watching neat people improve their lives. It will inspire me to better my own.

Nice to have you around Rafv. I know how you feel about wanting to bulk up. If you've been reading the blog posts you'll know that diet is 80% of success, regardless of if you are wanting to lose or gain weight.

Its a good idea to get yourself into a routine with your body weight exercises. Gyms aren't necessary unless you are set on being a tank. you can gain a lot from body weight exercises.

Any way, good luck and have fun!

-Hitchie.