Forums are back in action! ×

Welp, now I really have to get started!

Hey guys,

I just recently came across NF in my search of a way to finally get the body and become the healthy person I want to be.

Just a little history on me; I'm 21 years old, and until I was about 17 years old, I trained 4 or 5 times a week in some way or another (7-8 years of basketball, 3 years of tennis, 4 years of judo, 3 years of baseball, 4 years of gym-going, some of these overlapping), so I was in quite a good shape, weighing around 78 kg and being 1.91m tall. 

Then I moved out of my parental home, and got a place of my own, and went to attend uni. I joined a rowingclub there, and got motivated to kick my own ass in an even higher gear. I was too light for the heavyweight rowers, and too heavy for the lightweight rowers (I really couldn't lose the 3 kilo's I had to, to be able to join them), so I started training 6 days a week, and 2 of those days I even went twice.

In hindsight, that might've caused my injury. I blew out a knee during one of those trainings, 3 months in (I was at 84 kg, gained mostly muscle). My physician told me I couldn't row for at least a year, and I would have trouble walking for about 4 months, which was a pretty accurate guess. This led to me getting way more involved in the social side of attending uni, and got me into an unhealthy habit: drinking. Over the course of 18 months, I lost pretty much all the muscle mass I had, and gained my fair share of weight; the scales told me I weighed about 100kg. I wasn't in the best state of mind at that particular time, and in the end moved back in with my parents and took on a full-time job, to recuperate and get my life on track again.