Forums are back in action! ×

New to the crew...

Hey all!  I am semi-new to the rebellion.  Over the last month or two I have poured over the Nerd Fitness website.  NF has helped me to begin my transition from a diabetic diet to a paleo diet and to add weight training back into my regimen.  I am a cardio junkie at heart! 

So whats my story....At the age of 25, and in good shape, I started having health problems & gaining weight without reason.  B/c I have a dietetics degree, I tried a variety of diet and exercise regimens (high protein diet, diabetic diet, cleansing, interval training, p90x, aerobics, running, etc) that I would have advised to a client. Note, none of the diets were paleo b/c my degree program taught us to advise that no carbs was a "no-no".  Lets pause, while I light my degree on fire....alright, I feel better now...While all of the above seemed to work for the majority of my friends and family that I had given advice to, they did NOTHING for me.  Fast-forward 6 years, I have 2 toddlers and have gained 65lbs. Enough is enough.  I take my food & exercise diaries to the doctor.  I am diagnosed with metabolic syndrome, aka hyperinsulemia, aka snydrome x.  Basically my body is insulin resistant, explaining my unexplainable weight gain.  B/c I already exercise & eat healthy the doc puts me on MetFormin and tells me I will be on it for life....I'm not okay with this.  Fast forward to present-day, I'm a 33 year old, stay-at-home-mama of two very active toddlers (ages 5 & 3). I miss being me.  If that makes any sense.  I want to feel good about myself, be a postitive role model for my kids, and flippin take back the very active lifestyle I had before all this started.

Soooo.... what's my plan? 

Paleo is a must for me.  Remember, I just lit my degree on fire?  I'm doing pretty good with it, but am definitely looking for encouragement in that area.  I promise to encourage back!  I love, love, love to cook and have several paleo recipes that are 'da bomb.