Forums are back in action! ×

Heel Pain, Need Help

OK So I've been doing body weight workouts every other day and starting the last 2-3 times one heel is extremely painful after my workouts. So much so that I am still limping a bit a day later. It's the side that is the longer leg so not wearing any sort of pad or lift on that side. I do on my other leg....

I'm a beginner.

However, I have a lot of walking and farm stuff to do as a normal thing for my day after a winter of sloth and starting next week with shearing we get really busy so I can't really afford to be hobbling right now.

Anyone have any clue what might be going on or how to fix it or mitigate the problems?

Oogie McGuire

Black Sheep Shepherdess

STR 4.25 | DEX 4.5 | STA 3.75 | CON 3 | WIS 4.75 | CHA 1

It is only painful AFTER you aggrivate it? With rest, the pain goes away? Does it hurt when you first wake up, then lessen as the day goes on, or does it get worse with use?

First thing, stay off it for 3-7 days as much as you can. Ice it for the first day it's painful, take an anti-inflammatory, apply heat when it doesn't feel aggrivated to promote healing, let it recover, then once you've gone a few days with NO PAIN WHATSOEVER, slowly phase in workouts (start at half intensity for the first one, then increase to 75%, then 100%). As soon as you start to feel discomfort, STOP, take note of what aggrivated it, and dial it back the next day. If it's bruising or an aggrivated tendon or somesuch, letting it recover and then slowly increasing intensity should fix it. If it is still hurting after babying it, then it could be something more dramatic.

You can still do arm and core based stuff in the meantime, if you don't want to be too slothy. Knee planks, knee pushups, etc.

"Let another say. 'Perhaps the worst will not happen.' You yourself must say. 'Well, what if it does happen? Let us see who wins!' ".

- Seneca, 63 AD

"There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength." - Henry Rollins