Forums are back in action! ×

Hello from Down Under

Hey all

I've been reading NerdFitness since last year, but it's time to de-lurk and be part of this community :)

I'm a 27 year old Australian woman and a newbie to strength training. It's something I've wanted to do for years - Krista from Stumptuous.com and NerdFitness inspired me - but I never had the courage to do it until now. I'm absolutely loving it. I do barbells with a personal trainer once a week, and then two or three dumbbell and kettlebell workouts in my apartment complex gym. I am a total fitness noob who couldn't even work out how to do a bodyweight squat a short while ago. But now I do barbell squats, and dumbbell squats, and bodyweight squats, and jump squats... 

My current goal is to complete 100 hours of strength training consistently. The reason that I picked this goal is that I often get discouraged and give up because when in reality I just need to keep going until I get it. I figure that if I make the main focus just getting through 100 hours, I will learn and build strength along the way. So far I'm at Hour 14! 

I'm committed to an active and healthy lifestyle as the way I want to live. I'm here because I want to be part of a community where people support me to do that and I support them in return. I do have friends here who have similar views. But I also have a lot of people around who regard looking after yourself as a sign of insecurity ("you don't want to have that doughnut? you must be brainwashed by beauty magazines"), and my family are all about crash diets, not exercising and being a size 2. So I really like NerdFitness for all the encouragement, understanding and commonsense I come across when I read Steve's posts and the comments  on these forums. 

Oh, and when I'm not strength training, I'm a lawyer and a postgrad student. Busy busy busy...

Looking forward to getting to know you all better soon :)

Huntress

Current challenge - Rebels - Huntress lays the foundations