Forums are back in action! ×

Rebel from Edmonton

Hello, Rebellion!

My name is Chris, and I am 23 years old. I am a college student whose story probably isn't TOO radically different from many, so apologies if I bore you with stuff you've heard a thousand times before.

I was a skinny boy growing up, and only first started gaining weight the summer between grades 7 and 8. I honestly can't pinpoint an exact reason why. My best guess is a combination of puberty (causing my body's chemical structure to go all haywire), "enabler" friends (ones who didn't lead very healthy lifestyles themselves, taking me with them), and just plain laziness/lack of motivation. I ballooned quickly, and ended up around 40-50 pounds overweight by grade 10. I never got bullied too bad over it, mostly just in gym class. Be that as it may, it still sucked, and didn't give me quite the motivation I was looking for. I basically stayed the same weight throughout high school, although I made one major diet change at the time: I totally eliminated potato chips as a snack food. Small change, but big considering it was basically a staple in my diet. I'm proud to say, over 8 years later, not a single chip has entered my mouth!