Forums are back in action! ×

My name is Akirah and I'm new to NF. I spent the other night reading through so many articles and it was incredibly helpful. I am hoping this community will be a place for me to learn more, be encouraged, and held accountable.

I have a long story regarding my battle with weight loss. I was a chubby kid. My highest weight was 225 when I was a sophomore in high school. I decided to lose it and ended up losing 70 pounds in a pretty unhealthy way. I worked out multiple times a day and tried to eat only 500-800 calories a day. It worked, but definitely ignited some unhealthy views towards myself and losing weight.

Since then my weight has fluctuated between 148 and 165. Right now I am at 160. I would like to be around 145-150. Perhaps that isn't what my body wants, but I'm only 5'5", so I feel like my current weight is a little heavy. 

Anyhow, I started my most recent weight loss journey at the beginning of Lent. Since then I've been doing Jillian Michaels workouts and eating (mostly) paleo. It's a little frustrating losing weight so slowly...I'm used to quick results by starving myself. But I want to be transformed...physically and mentally. And I want to be truly healthy. So I know I need to work hard and be really patient. No quick fixes. Hubs says he definitely notices a difference in my body. It's just hard when the scale doesn't reflect that.

Sorry to have written so much. If you read it all, thanks. If you have any words of encouragement, thanks even more! :)