Forums are back in action! ×

Fiona dreams of being Lara

The Fantasy....  I'm a kick-ass, strong female warrior a' la Lara Croft, Alice (Resident Evil) or Buffy (tvs)

The Reality.... Fiona from Shrek (minus the green skin and funny ears)

I saw Steve on creativeLive a couple of weeks ago and I felt inspired to check out the rebellion movement here on NF.  I'm glad I did.  

I started with the Beginner's workout as I am a nooB to strength training and I huffed and puffed through 1 set of the exercises - and may have fudged some of the movements to boot - but the next time I tried to do more and got through 1.5 sets and worked on my form.  After 4 workouts, I have already lost and inch on my hips and 1/2 an inch on my waist so I'm feeling very motivated to continue.  I don't want to be too much of an eager beaver, so I'm trying to pace myself so as not to burn out before I reach my goals.  It used to be a goal of reaching 143 pounds (I'm 5'7") and a size 6.  But after reading almost everything on NF, my new goal is to get strong.  I'm not sure how much is possible just yet, so I'm going to level up each 6 week challenge and continue to get stronger.  I weighed myself before I started and the scale read 229.5.  I'm not going to weight myself again for 6 months, but I am going to take pictures every month and might even post them here.

My teen daughter calls me a sci-fi geek and I'm part of the nerd herd (I'm an accountant for a large silicon valley computer company), and I feel like I've found my brethren here.  I'm not much of a gamer, but only because I lack the hand-eye coordination and time for it.  The idea of making my life an RPG is very exciting to me.  I love sic-fi and fantasy movies, shows and comics.  My largest iTunes genre in movies/shows is Sci-Fi/Fantasy.  I used to try to hide it, but not I feel proud to be part of the nerd herd.