Forums are back in action! ×

I would like to join the rebellion!

Good evening! I've been checking out Nerd Fitness for a few weeks now. I landed on their blog by looking up fitness blogs on google reader. So I guess this is where I am supposed to share a little about me? Well...

I'm a 33 year old Electrician from Minnesota. I am married to a wonderful woman, and I currently have 3 children ages 8,6,&5. I may soon be adding 2 more through a family situation where we would foster 2 kids, ages 18 months and 8 months, with the intent to adopt them. 

I used to be into athletics until I was about 23 when I had a volleyball accident where I tore my ACL. I didn't get it fixed right away and quit exercising all together, problem being my diet got worse as well. I went from 180 pounds to my current weight of 248 pounds. I know that heart disease does run in my family, so I have decided that I need to lose this weight in order to live a long life. My biggest inspiration is my 6 year old little girl. She is my only daughter, and I have written out my primary goal to be there to walk her down the isle some day. 

I do have other goals to go along with my primary one that are more short term.

I will get down to 180 again, but my goal is 10 pound increments. 

I will get my blood pressure back into a healthy range.

I will improve my cholesterol levels (although my Dr. said I am still in a good range

I will actively play more with my kids

longer term: 

I will compete in my first bike race (I have found I love cycling)

I will become debt free within 3 years.

I will read 2 books a month that make me a better person

I will finish my college education and graduate with my bachelors degree spring of 2015

So there you have it. I am looking forward to meeting many of you, and continuing to be inspired by your stories. 

See you in the next challenge!!