Forums are back in action! ×

Angry Birds - More difficult planks?

I'm a few weeks into the Angry Birds workout. I'm new to focusing on strength (I'm that guy that was spending waaaay to much time working out and getting nowhere with it).

As I work on my push ups and pull ups, I'm looking for some suggestions as to ways to make the planks more difficult, or alternative to planks. Or, should I just keep adding time (8 minutes, 9 minutes, etc. in 2 sets or less)?

My trainer had me put my feet on a bosu during planks last week. Normally I can get well over a minute, but couldn't do more than 35sec with my feet on the ball side of the platform. Also don't let your hands drift toward each other- maybe get a ball or stick to put between your palms. I'm not clear on the mechanism, but hands together seems to be a lot easier than hands parallel with the body.

Also, if you're doing 8 minute planks (8 minutes?!), add weight to your shoulders. Like wear a backpack or something. I can't imagine you're getting much work done in the first 5-6 minutes... however, if you're reading while planking then you might enjoy having that kind of time to finish a chapter :)

I read a study once that said doing ANYTHING in the gym is more anabolic than doing NOTHING sitting in front of the computer.

~Chris Shugart @ T-nation

Iron is full of impurities that weaken it: through forging, it becomes steel and is

transformed into a razor-sharp sword. Human beings develop in the same fashion.

~Morihei Ueshiba

Favorites:

* Robb Wolf Podcast #68- Matt Lalonde vs gluten (<-transcript)

*Documentary: Fat Head

*NF blog:Most Inspirational 20 Minutes

*Starting Strength Wiki

Try a regular Plank, but with one arm. I don't mean Side Planks, but trying to keep yourself parallel to the floor. It's hard to do, and your obliques hurt like crazy the next day. You could try holding the Front Leaning Rest for time, which is basically the top position of a Push-Up too.