Forums are back in action! ×

Advice for kicking through the plateau/slowdown?

Hedgewolf

Hi there - longtime reader of Nerd Fitness, but this is the first time I've turned to the forums for help.

I've been working out properly for about two years now, on and off, since I was seventeen. I'm constantly broke and studying, so it's all bodyweight stuff I can do at home, basically.

By midway through last year, I was running on a two-day routine of upper body (pullups, pushups, dips) one day and core/legs the next (leg raises, sit ups, and squats) plus running about 4km daily after work. I was doing high-rep sets, in the 40-70 rep range, for about five sets of five different exercises daily.

Throughout the year I kept plateauing, or going backwards in what I could manage, which sucked. I found Nerd Fitness about halfway through last year, which gave me some good pointers, but I kept on with roughly the same routine. Basically, at a certain point, I would just cease to progress, no matter how hard I worked; couldn't go any longer or do any harder exercises.

I started studying again this year and switched it up - now doing a three day rotation based on Convict Conditioning, which is much lighter in load. Despite this, I've still stalled at a point - I'm aiming at doing one-armed pushups and pullups, and I haven't passed assissted one armers in either. I've been using the new routine for about two months.

So I'm hoping you wise folks might have some advice for me? I really can't afford a gym (broke, renting and studying/unemployed), but surely there's something wrong with my technique if this keeps happening.

On the high rep thing, bodyweight exercises can be done for crazy reps once you're proficient with them, it's more of a high intensity cardio than a strengthening thing.