Forums are back in action! ×

My introduction, getting back to fitness after injury, Good to be Onboard!

Hey Everyone,

My name is Bill.  I stumbled upon this awesome site through a link that I saw on Myfitness Pal forums, and after lurking for just a few days, I decided I needed to join this great community!

First, a little about myself, I’m a design/analysis engineer working for a massively huge company.  I spend 99% of my work time at my computer at my desk.  My hobbies and activities include soccer, camping, backpacking, autocross, and working on cars.  As for my nerd skills, I am an average video gamer playing when I have extra time.  I am a devoted scifi fan:  stargate (obv.), BSG, trek, star wars, firefly, etc, etc.  I also read scifi and fantasy.  I’ve even started to do some stargate cosplay at cons.

So that’s a bit about myself, I’ll add more geek details in my profile when I get a chance.  Now moving on to why I’m signing up for the rebellion.  Currently, I’m 5’11†207lbs, and not much muscle, and the past 6 years I’ve been on a fitness rollercoaster.  My weight has bounced back and forth between 200 and 230 about 4 times, losing weight and getting in shape to see it all stack back on again.  Fall of 2012, I was on another swing to return to fitness, when I tore my ACL playing soccer; I was 212lbs at the time.  I had ACL reconstruction surgery at the end of December 2012 (good thing the world did not end, I would have been quite angry), and have been doing physical therapy since then.  In addition to PT and Surgeon clearance, I told myself I needed to get my weight down to no more than 190lbs before I could return to playing soccer.  I’ve spent all this money on my knee and I need to reduce the stress on it.  Also, found out my blood pressure is way too high, and am now on medication to reduce that.