Forums are back in action! ×

Ex-Army, Still In Afghanistan Reporting For Duty!!

Howdy To the Rebellion!!

I've been a reader of Nerd Fitness since long before the first Rebel Guide was published, but never did anything about it. That changes today.

30 years old, recently separated from the US Army. After 5.75 years and 2 combat tours, I ended up with a spinal injury which made it really hard to do the required physical training. I've been mostly mended for a while, but the pounds accumulated and atrophy gained have been the enemy keeping me from getting back to fighting trim. No longer.

I'm a civilian contractor now working in Afghanistan, stationed currently at Bagram Air Base as a trainer and mechanic on the M-ATV line of Heavy Armored Vehicle. I love the work- it's physical and demanding as well as keeping my brainmeats engaged-- and I love training Soldiers, Airmen, and Marines. It's a great job, but it keeps me halfway across the world from my family.

My girlfriend Sweet Louise and I have joined the Rebellion together, both as a way to improve our physical health and as a way to stay present and connected and working together as a Team even though I'm half a world away.

I'm a hardcore history and gaming geek. I have played and GM'd every edition of D&D since 2nd Ed, and run 4E games both when I'm home and for our Servicemembers and Warfighters here in Afghanistan. I run a gaming blog called The Action Point-- hence the screen name.

Looking forward to Leveling up alongside everybody and especially my honey.

GOALS: Since my injury I have packed on close to 40 pounds of useless weight, which ironically complicates the back issues and makes it harder to work out. It definitely makes proper form something I'm going to have to pay VERY close attention to. All those pounds have to go. I'm 220ish now. I want to get to 180 lbs again. I havent seen that since Basic Training.