Forums are back in action! ×

Gotta start somewhere...

Hey all, I was turned on to NerdFitness about a month ago and have read it intermittently since then. And then this month my bf and I bought the Rebel Strength Guide and decided it's time to actually get in shape.

I'm a 24 year old law student about to finish up my degree (done May 15th!) I've always been in decent shape and carrying some extra pounds but about a year ago I started playing Ultimate Frisbee and I realized that I need to actually get fit. Since then I've been working on improving my running (especially sprinting) and overall endurance to improve my game. Now I want to take it to the next level, improving my overall muscle tone and endurance for longer and stronger throws and better reflexes on the field.

Goals: I want to be able to do pushups (can currently do 5 at one go! woo!), chinups, pullups, all the upper body exercises that I've never been able to do. I want to learn how to work out safely so that my muscles don't seize up and so that I don't injure myself. And I want to get down to somewhere around 135 lbs without having to "diet" (because eventually you stop dieting and then lose it). Figure out a comfortable diet that includes enough protein without relying as much on animal protein. Any tips on high protein veggies, opinions on tofu and soy products, and advice on protein supplements are welcome.

I'm into history, especially the European royal families. I read a lot, especially fantasy and Sci Fi (LotR, Terry Pratchett, Song of Ice and Fire, The Soprano Sorceress, Fables) but really, I'll read anything I can get my hands on. Just finishing up Battlestar Gallactica (two episodes left, kind of sad to be done) and I love Firefly (actually anything Joss Whedon). I've even started watching the Startgate series (so bad and good all at once).