Forums are back in action! ×

I'm a nerd who wants to get into fitness. Perfect!

Hi Everyone!

I'm 20, from the Philippines, and I work full-time as an assistant manager for training and development in a fast-casual restaurant chain focusing on fried chicken and pork. As such, my work environment is not conducive for a healthy lifestyle at all.

My family has a laundry list of ailments on both sides: Diabetes, cancer, hypertension, you name it! All of my older uncles also have that dangerous "big belly, skinny legs / arms" build, which I'm also turning into. All of my fat gain is in my midsection. My family has always been brought together by food: burgers, pastas, pastries, all of the unhealthy stuff. It doesn't help that my aunt owns a pastry shop and my grandmother has been baking her entire life. We were a family born to be fat.

My short-term goal is to gain muscle -- along the way squatting 1.5x my body weight -- and lose fat, but my long-term goal is to avoid the aforementioned diseases that have plagued my family for generations. 

My body type can be described as skinny-fat. I'm 5'10, 165 lbs, with most of that in my gut. I have never excelled in any sport. My cardio is terrible and I get winded after running 500 meters. I've been on and off "fitness programs" for the past few years. I tried jogging but I got bored too easily. I bought some dumbbells but I can't find the motivation to consistently practice. After a while I finally gave in and decided to join a Gold's Gym near our office, with the idea that I'll be motivated to work out if I know I'm spending money on it consistently. It actually worked! I've been working out 2-3 times a week for a month now and I feel so much better.