Forums are back in action! ×

Ready to Begin the Journey

Hey everyone! My name is Lindsay, and this is the first time I've ever been a member in forum for anything. However, I felt I should introduce myself...I've been told this community is the best part of being part of the rebellion!

My story, in short...I'm a 22-year-old college graduate in linguistics, about to undertake the adventure of a lifetime: I'll be teaching English at a university in Colombia for about a year as part of the Fulbright program! Though I know I want to go into teaching and academia and go back for graduate school, my life is still very much in transition.

As part of the effort to have a little control in my life (and help with stress and depression that comes), I started to take control of my health. I even got through the Couch to 5K program (below is a photo of me completing the Polar Plunge 5K in Minneapolis in March!). I have always tried to be healthy and always knew that weight lifting ultimately would get me the body I wanted, I didn't really ever set goals or follow a plan when it came to exercise. Like Steve says, I first focused on my diet this past month, counting my calories and watching portion control. And it has really helped me go in the right direction (I'm down to 134 pounds from my previous 145!), but I'm still left unsatisfied because I don't have the definition I crave. Where are my abs? Sexy defined arms? Shoulders and back muscles to die for? I still feel like, despite other people saying I'm already skinny when I tell them I want to lose weight, that I'm fat. Skinny fat, if that makes sense.