Forums are back in action! ×

Eating before training, what do you think?

Hello all!

I'm new here and have been a member for a month or so but this is my first time postgin, I'll stop in the introduction section a bit later and post more but for now I have a question. When doing circuit training would you all recommend eating before or after the workout, or does that depend on the goal of the work out? I've been doing cardio training for the past year and a half and I've dropped about 65lbs but now I'm looking to build muscle. Now that being said I'm still running and doing cardio training but I've added circuit training to the mix 2-3 days a week. That being said I generally do my crcuit training on an empty stomach because that was what I was doing to burn fat with the cardio traing however my primary goal with the circuit training is to build muscle and burn a little fat but I feel kind of weak when I do circuit on an empty stomach so I'm not sure that I'm getting the maximum effeciency out of my workout. Should I eat a high protein meal or have a shake and hour or so before working out or should I continue to do it on an empty stomach and then eat? Or should I eat before hand, workout and eat some more?

I hate eating fasted.  But lots of people (Here too) don't like eating ANYTHING before- like HOURS AND HOURS before.

I'd die. Literally Die.  on floor. bang bang.

I have to have SOMETHING 2 hours up to 30 minutes prior to working out.  Try it out and see- try a yogurt or egg or piece of cheese 45 minutes before.  You'll never know till you try!

EAT. Or at least have a glass of milk and a banana. I get light headed if I train without about 200 calories or so an hour or two before a workout.

Human Adventurer

Str: 3 | Dex: 2 | Sta:2 | Con:3 | Wis:3 | Cha:2

I've got no strings to hold me down, to make me smile or make me frown...