Forums are back in action! ×

noob workout routine

hi there, im new to this site and unfortunatly i dont hacve the money to buy the book...i have been reading the articles and have put togather a workout routine for me... could someone please tell me if its ok or not? i would like to lose 10 or so kilos and gain some pretty muscle

squats with a barbell

incline dumbell press

deadlift

pullups ( i can manage about 4 on the assist machine )

body weight squats

pushups lunge

dumbell rows

plank

thankyou :) i am quite new to all this gym busness :)

I'd suggest not doing assisted pull ups at all. If you haven't read the "how to do a pull up" article I'd suggest it, it's a good read. If you are like myself and are 100% that right now you cannot do a full pull up, you could try an Australian pull up like this

In all though your routine looks good (although I have no clue what a push up lunge is though?). And I've also notice that there is not much core work in here, just the plank? I'd personally change that. I have a similar enough beginners work out routine which is doing quite well for me, if you'd like to see it for comparison I'll post it here for you. :)

Good luck in the gym!

Level 1  Petty Assassin of the Lanomia Clan STR: 0 | DEX: 0 | STA: 0 | CON: 0 | WIS: 0 | CHA: 0Current Challenge

Too much stuff for a single workout.

Pick a compound leg exercise, a compound pull exercise, and a compound push exercise, and a core exercise.

If you don't feel link you are doing enough, do more sets.

If you want more exercise variety, rotate 2 routines back and forth. Most beginner routines are like this.

Example:

Workout 1:

Pushup

Pullup

Squat

Plank

Workout 2:

Incline DB press (would probably swap this with overhead DB press)

DB Row

Deadlift

Plank (perhaps try hanging leg lifts or side planks)

Always do core stuff last.

currently cutting

battle log challenges: 21,20, 19,18,17,16,15,14,13,12,11,10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1

don't panic!